Rapid Fire Book Tag

I thought I’d answer the questions from the ‘Rapid Fire Book Tag’ [I think it was created by Kate at GirlReading BookTube channel]. So here goes….

 

E-book or Physical book?

E-book. I resisted the e-reader at first, thinking I’d always prefer hard-copy. However, I’m a total convert. I still have a lot of paperbacks, but nearly all new purchases are electronic copy.

Paperback or Hardback?

Paperback, no question. Always disliked hardbacks. Hardbacks are more awkward to hold while reading, come in all different sizes, which makes my bookshelf look haphazard, heavier to lug around and they’re expensive.

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

I like browsing in bookstores still, but generally that’s to buy books as gifts. If I’m buying for myself, it’s online (usually for an e-copy).

Trilogies or Series?

That depends on how amazing it is. If it’s mind-blowingly brilliant (like the Wheel of Time) then the more the better. If it’s just okay, then three books is enough. So ideally I want long, mind-blowingly brilliant series.

Heroes or Villains?

?? Can’t have one without the other.

A Book You Want Everyone To Read?

Mine! Cruel Reality, obviously. But other than that, maybe ‘Wolf of the Plains’ by Conn Iggulden. The dramatized story of Genghis Khan’s Childhood and adolescence, it’s a great read.

Recommend an Underrated Author?

Patrick Tilley. He was a bit of a one-hit wonder, with his Amtrak Wars books, about 30 years ago, but they are really good.

The Last Book You Finished?

I read the first book of the Grisha by Leigh Bardugo.

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

A rock. Needs must.

Used Books: Yes or No?

Sure – can pick up some bargains and support a charity at the same time (e.g. an Oxfam used book store)

Top Three Favourite Genres?

Fantasy, Sci-fi and historical fiction.

Borrow or Buy?

Buy.

Character or Plot?

Plot.

Long or Short Books?

Long! If it’s less than 500 pages, I’m probably gonna skip it.

Name The First Three Books You Think Of

Matilda.

Magician (Raymond Feist)

Tooth Goblins.

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

Cry I think. There are probably only 2 books that have made me cry. This would be the result of a character that I really felt connected to, probably making some hugely selfless sacrifice.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional worlds. But alternative or historical versions of our world are also interesting.

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

I went through a spell of loving them, but then I was listening to one (The Road by Cormac McCarthy, and I’m sure there will be some who love it, but…) and I thought it was taking really long to get into the plot. It was beginning to think that it must be the longest intro of any book ever. When something interesting finally happened and I thought the book was finally going to get going, that event turned out to be the big finale. I thought it was the worst book ever. But, I think if I’d actually been reading it and had realised how far the book I was, I think I might have felt quite differently about it. I haven’t listened to an audiobook since (about 6 years ago).

Do You Ever Judge a Book by it’s Cover?

Of course. And then by it’s blurb. If the cover has a photo of a person looking at me, I am not going to buy that book. I like people to either be unrecognisable, or drawn.

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

Now that depends on the nationality of the production company. If it’s American, then Book to movie. If it’s British, then Book to TV. Americans make good movies, but their TV shows inevitably get dragged out far too long.

A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

Lord of the Rings. I am a huge fan of LOTR. I read it over twenty years ago, and several times since. But I thought the films took out some of the rubbish (Tom Bombadil) and added some good stuff.

Series or Standalone’s?

Series. I rarely read standalones (yes, I know ‘Cruel Reality’ is a standalone).

Leave a Reply

